Year 7 Statistics
Resource Key
When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you
LEVEL 1
Brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
LEVEL 2
Provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language
LEVEL 3
Lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Introduction
Statistics
Merriam-Webster defines statistics as "a branch of mathematics dealing with the collection, analysis, interpretation, and presentation of masses of numerical data."
Statistics Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster
Statistics Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster. (2022). Retrieved from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/statistics
Statistics is a branch of mathematics devoted to the collection, compilation, display, and interpretation of numerical data. Data collection and statistical analysis are the foundation of much experimental science. Statistical models are useful for predicting likely outcomes of situations. They are especially valuable for making informed decisions based on actual data instead of on intuition or feelings. Statistics is closely related to probability, and the two subjects are often studied together. Mathematicians who specialize in statistics are called statisticians.
"Statistics." UXL Encyclopedia of Science, edited by Amy Hackney Blackwell and Elizabeth Manar, 3rd ed., UXL, 2015. Gale In Context: High School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CV2644300904/SUIC?u=61_alls&sid=bookmark-SUIC&xid=a39cc69b. Accessed 28 Feb. 2022.
Links
Click the link above to be taken to Encyclopedia Britannica and choose Middle School.
Search term - statistics