MyASC Nexus-S
Research Guides
Miscellaneous
{{group_header}}

Research & Referencing

A guide for students and staff on referencing, copyright, creative commons and more

Book

undefined

Author, A., & Author, B. (Publication date). Title: Subtitle. Publisher.

  • 1 author
Parsons, M. (2017). Pearson science. S.B. 10. Pearson Education Australia.

Parenthetical citation: (Parsons, 2017)

Narrative citation: Parsons (2017)

  • up to 20 authors

Blunden, A., Bradley, K., Park, L., Van Iersel, H., Yancos, J., & Young, N. (2016). Nelson psychology : VCE units 3 & 4. Cengage Learning Australia.

Parenthetical citation: (Blunden et al., 2016)

Narrative citation: Blunden et al. (2016)

  • 21 and more authors 

Kalnay, E., Kanamitsu, M., Kistler, R., Collins, W., Deaven, D., Gandin, L., Iredell, M., Saha, S., White, G., Woollen, J., Zhu, Y., Chelliah, M., Ebisuzaki, W., Higgins, W., Janowiak, J., Mo, K. C., Ropelewski, C., Wang, J., Leetmaa, A., . . . Joseph, D. (1996). The NCEP/NCAR 40-Year Reanalysis Project. Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 77(3), 437-472. http://doi.org/fg6rf9 

Parenthetical citation: (Kalnay et al., 1996)

Narrative citation: Kalnay et al. (1996)

  • collaborative author

Thomas, D., & Art Gallery of South Australia. (1988). Creating Australia : 200 years of art 1788-1988. International Cultural Corporation of Australia.

Parenthetical citation: (Thomas et al., 1988)

Narrative citation: Thomas et al. (1988)

  • organization as author and publisher

School Mathematics Project. (1982). Further matrices and transformations. Cambridge University Press.

Parenthetical citation:  (School Mathematics Project, 1982)
Narrative citation: School Mathematics Project (1982)

 

Ebook

undefined

  • ebook with DOI

Author, A. (Publication date). Title: Subtitle. Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxx

Domingues, M. V. J. P. (2021). Energy costs and farm characteristics in the European Union: Highlighting linkages with structural and policy dimensions. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-75839-4  

Parenthetical citation: (Domingues, 2021)

Narrative citation: Domingues (2021)

  •  ebook without DOI

Author, A. (Publication date). Title: Subtitle. Publisher. Retrieved Month day, year, from http://xxxx or https://xxxx

Shakespeare, W. (1623) Macbeth (Mowat, B., Werstine, P., & Witmore, M). The Folger Shakespeare. Retrived April 4. 2023, from  https://www.folger.edu/explore/shakespeares-works/macbeth/

Parenthetical citation: (Shakespeare et al., 1623)

Narrative citation: Shakespeare et al. (1623) 

  • Google Books

Author, A. (Publication date). Title: Subtitle. Publisher. Retrieved Month day, year, from    https://books.google.nl/xxxx

Galassi, P., & Sherman, C. (2003). Cindy Sherman: The Complete Untitled Film Stills. Museum of Modern Art.. Retrieved April 4, 2023, from https://books.google.com/books/about/Cindy_Sherman.html?id=Zyqv6HDYKOoC


Parenthetical citation: (Galassi & Sherman, 2003)
Narrative citation: Galassi & Sherman (2003)

Chapter in a book

undefined

If you have consulted a chapter from a book that was compiled by one or more editors, refer to that chapter.

The source reference contains information about both the chapter and the book.  It works as follows:

 

Author, A. (Publication date). Chapter title: Subtitle. In A. Editor(Ed.), Book title: Subtitle (pp. xx-xx). Publisher.

 

Smallwood, G. (2016). The social justice foundation of Aboriginal community development. In C. Kickett-Tucker, D. Bessarab, J. Coffin & M. Wright (Eds.), Mia mia Aboriginal community development: Fostering cultural security (pp. 37–53). Cambridge University Press.

Parenthetical citation: (Smallwood, 2016)

Narrative citation: Smallwood (2016)

  • for an e-book chapter, you also mention the URL or https://doi.org/xxxx:

Smallwood, G. (2016). The social justice foundation of Aboriginal community development. In C. Kickett-Tucker, D. Bessarab, J. Coffin & M. Wright (Eds.), Mia mia Aboriginal community development: Fostering cultural security (pp. 37–53). Cambridge University Press. https://doi.org/10.1017/CBO9781107741768.002

Parenthetical citation: (Smallwood, 2016)

Narrative citation: Smallwood (2016)

Reference works (dictionary, encyclopedia)

undefined

When a word is looked up in a reference work (dictionary or encyclopedia) to be sure of its meaning it does not need to be referenced.

If you quote or paraphrase from a reference work, you ought to include it in the reference list.

 

The general source citation of a reference work does not differ from that of a book, but often reference works have only editor(s) or no author(s) at all.

Author, A. (Publication date). Title. Publisher.

  • with author(s) or editor(s)

Moore, B. (Ed.). (2004). The Australian Oxford Dictionary (2nd. ed.). Oxford University Press.

Parenthetical citation: (Moore, 2004)

Narrative citation: Moore (2004)

  • without authors
Collins English Dictionary (8th ed.). (2019). Oxford University Press.

Parenthetical citation: (Collins English Dictionary, 2019)

Narrative citation: Collins English Dictionary (2019)

  • part of multi-part reference work

Kloft, J. (Bearb.). (1979). Inventar des Urkundenarchivs der Fürsten von Hatzfeldt-Wildenburg zu Schönstem/Sieg. In Band 2 Regesten Nr. 451 bis 1050 (pp. 1467-1536). Rheinland-Verlag.

Parenthetical citation: (Kloft, 1979)

Narrative citation: Kloft (1979) 

  • Wikipedia entry

Title. (year, Month day ). In Title reference work. Retrieved Month day, year, from http://xxxx of https://xxxx

Imperialism. (2023, April 3). In Wikipedia. Retrieved April 4, 2023, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Imperialism

Parenthetical citation ("Imperialism", 2023)

Narrative citation: "Imperialism" (2023)

Journal article

undefined
  • scientific journal article in print

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Publication date). Article title. Journal Title, volume(number), pages.

McCauley, S. M., & Christiansen, M. H. (2019). Language learning as language use: A cross-linguistic model of child language development. Psychological review, 126(1), 1.

Parenthetical citation: (McCauley & Christiansen, 2019)

Narrative citation: McCauley and Christiansen (2019)

  • scientific journal article electronic with DOI

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Publication date). Article title. Journal Title, volume(number), pages. https://doi.org/xxxx

Lachner, A., Backfisch, I., Hoogerheide, V., Van Gog, T., & Renkl, A. (2020). Timing matters! Explaining between study phases enhances students’ learning. Journal of Educational Psychology, 112(4), 841–853. https://doi.org/10.1037/edu0000396

Parenthetical citation: (Lachner et al., 2020)

Narrative citation: Lachner et al. (2020) 

  • journal article electronic without DOI

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Publication date). Article title. Journal Title, volume(number), pages. Retrieved Month day, year, from http(s)://xxxx 

Stegmeir, M. (2016). Climate change: New discipline practices promote college access. The Journal of College Admission, (231), 44–47. Retrieved January 25, 2022, from https://www.nxtbook.com/ygsreprints/NACAC/nacac_jca_spring2016/#/46

Parenthetical citation: (Stegmeir, 2016)

Narrative citation: Stegmeir (2016)

 

Newspaper article

undefined

  • printed

Author, A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Name newspaper, page number of section.

Jervis-Bardy, D. (2023, April 4). Mining Holds Key to Climate Battle. The West Australian, p. 5.

Parenthetical citation: (Jervis-Bardy, 2023)

Narrative citation: Jervis-Bardy (2023)

  • online

Author, A. (year, Month day). Title of article. Newspaper name. Retrieved Month day, year, from http://xxxx or https://xxxx

FEMINISM. (1925, March 14). Daily Standard (Brisbane, Qld.: 1912 - 1936), p. 4. Retrieved April 4, 2023, from http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article179461985

Parenthetical citation: ("FEMINISM", 1925)

Narrative citation: "FEMINISM" (1925)

Reports & brochures (gray literature)

undefined
  • Additional information such as edition, volume, issue or volume number may be included between the round brackets for identification.
  • If necessary, a description for identification may be given in square brackets for less common informal publications, such as brochures, policy papers, press releases, etc.

Examples: 

  • printed

Author, A. (Publication date). Title (Issue number or volume). Publisher

 

The Council of Europe Youth Sector. (n.d.). Youth for Democracy: The Councile of Europe Youth for Democracy Programme [Brochure]. The Council of Europe.

Parenthetical citation: (The Council of Europe Youth Sector, n.d.)
Narrative citation: The Council of Europe Youth Sector (n.d.)

 

  • online: add 'Retrieved on..., from http(s)//:xxxx ' or DOI

Author, A. (Publication date). Title (issue number or volume). Publisher. Retrieved Month day, year, from http://xxxx or https://xxxx

 

Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2022-23). Closing the Gap and National Government Reporting. ABS. Retrieved April 4, 2023, from  https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/aboriginal-and-torres-strait-islander-peoples/closing-gap-and-national-government-reporting/2022-23.

Parenthetical citation: (Australian Bureau of Statistics, 2022-23)

Narrative citation: Australian Bureau of Statistics (2022-23)

Doctoral, master or bachelor theses, internship report

undefined

  • unpublished
  • When a dissertation or thesis is unpublished, include the description “[Unpublished doctoral dissertation]” or “[Unpublished master’s thesis]” in square brackets after the dissertation or thesis title.
  • In the source element of the reference, provide the name of the institution that awarded the degree

Author, A. (Publication year). Title of thesis [Description]. Name of institution. 

Harris, L. (2014). Instructional leadership perceptions and practices of elementary school leaders [Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. University of Virginia.

Parenthetical citation: (Harris, 2014)

Narrative citation: Harris (2014)

  • published
  • In the source element of the reference, provide the name of the database, repository, or archive.

Author, A. (Publication year). Title of thesis [Description, Name of institution]. Name database or archive. 

Peek, P. (2007). “The words induced me to turn towards myself”: The politics of inheritance in Mary Shelley's “Frankenstein” [Doctoral dissertation, Fordham University]. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

Parenthetical citation: (Peek, 2007)

Narrative citation: Peek (2007)

 

  • published with access
  • Include a URL for the dissertation or thesis if the URL will resolve for readers

Author, A. (Publication year). Title of theses [Description, Name of institution]. Name database or archive. Retrieved Month day, year from http(s)://xxxx 

Tabers-Kwak, L. (2000). Leadership: Power and authority. An analysis of five Shakespearean characters: Lear, Julius Caesar, Richard III, Othello, and Hamlet [Doctoral dissertation, Loyola University Chicago]. ProQuest. https://www.proquest.com/openview/097f9ab6d6f3f4f72acf9c5961418673/1?pq-origsite=gscholar&cbl=18750&diss=y

Parenthetical citation: (Tabers-Kwak, 2000)

Narrative citation: Tabers-Kwak (2000) 

Published dissertation or thesis references are covered in Section 10.6 of the APA Publication Manual, Seventh Edition

Legal works

undefined
  • legal text from a book - apply the guidelines for a book
Blanpain, R., Hendrickx, F., & Biagi, M. (2002). Codex European labour and social security law. Kluwer Law International.

Parenthetical citation: (Blanpain et al., 2002)

Narrative citation: Blanpain et al. (2002)

  •   legal text online

The title is in front and the date is the day of issue. In the text you may refer to a specific article and/or section number.

 

Directive 2001/29/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 May 2001 on the harmonisation of certain aspects of copyright and related rights in the information society. (2001, June 22). Official Journal of the European Communities, (L 167), 10-19. Retrieved April 11, 2022 from https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/dir/2001/29/oj

Parenthetical citation: (Directive 2001/29/EC, 2001, Article 8)
Narrative citation: Directive 2001/29/EC (2001, Article 8)

 

Conference sessions or presentations

undefined
  • Describe the presentation in square brackets after the title. The description is flexible (e.g., “[Conference session],” “[Paper presentation],” “[Poster session]”).
  • Provide the names of the presenter(s) in the author element of the reference.
  • Provide the full dates of the conference in the date element of the reference.
  • Provide the name of the conference or meeting and its location in the source element of the reference
  • If video of the conference presentation is available, include a link at the end of the reference.

 

Presenter, A. (Year, Month day). Title of contribution [Type of contribution]. Conference name, Location. Retrieved Month day, year, from https://xxxx

 

Evans, A. C., Jr., Garbarino, J., Bocanegra, E., Kinscherff, R. T., & Márquez-Greene, N. (2019, August 8–11). Gun violence: An event on the power of community [Conference presentation]. APA 2019 Convention, Chicago, IL, United States. Retrieved March 20, 2022 from https://convention.apa.org/2019-video

Parenthetical citation: (Evans et. al, 2019)
Narrative citation: Evans et al. (2019)

Translated Works

undefined

Author, A. (Publication Date). Title (T. Translator, Trans.). Publisher. (Original work published Year)

  • When a text was originally published in another language, the original author is mentioned both in the text and in the reference list. The translator is only mentioned in the reference list.
  • Credit the translator or translators in the reference by writing the abbreviation “Trans.” after the translator’s name and placing both the name and abbreviation in parentheses after the title of the work.
  • Both the original publication date and the republished date of the translated work appear in the in-text citations, with the earlier year first, separated with a slash.
  • Credit the original source by providing the year the work was originally published (in its original language) at the end of the reference in parentheses and preceded by the words “Original work published”.
 
  • Printed book, republished in translation
 Coelho, P. (1993). The alchemist (A. R. Clarke, Trans.). HarperOne. (Original work published 1988)
Parenthetical citation: (Coelho, 1988/1993)

Narrative citation: Coelho (1988/1993)

 

  • Ancient Greek or Roman work

Plato. (1961). Meno (R. S. Bluck, Trans.). Cambridge University Press. (Original work published ca. 380 B.C.)

Parenthetical citation: (Plato, ca. 380 B.C./1961)
Narrative citation: Plato (ca. 380 B.C./196

 

  • Journal article, republished in translation

Piaget, J. (1972). Intellectual evolution from adolescence to adulthood (J. Bliss & H. Furth, Trans.). Human Development, 15(1), 1–12. https://doi.org/10.1159/000271225 (Original work published 1970)

Parenthetical citation: (Piaget, 1970/1972)

Narrative citation: Piaget (1970/1972)